Glazed Pork Chops

I’ve been on a kick to cook meals without chicken.  So I was very excited to try out this recipe for Glazed Pork Chops: http://pinterest.com/pin/91901648616819210/.

The last time I made pork chop it was a join effort with my hubby, but this time I decided to fly solo.  I’m still a new cook, so I followed the directions closely.  I heated up the oil in the pan but honestly I wasn’t sure when it was ready for the pork chops.  Apparently I waited too long because the minute I set the first pork chop in the oil it started to smoke and I set off the fire alarm in my apartment!  Oh my! Luckily I didn’t burn the pork chop too badly and a couple open window aired out the place pretty quickly.
After everyhing calmed down, I started working on the side dish, brown rice with cheese and zucchini: http://pinterest.com/pin/91901648616715522/.  I’ve been cooking with zucchini a lot lately.  In fact, I’m not sure I’ve ever cooked with zucchini before.  I have to say, I have found some great dishes on Pinterest.

The final result: a delicious dinner.  The pork chops were really tasty and the rice dish was delicious.  I will definitely be making both again.

Original recipes:

Glazed Pork Chops

Total Recipe cost: $6.55
Servings Per Recipe: 4
Cost per serving: $1.63
Prep time: 10 min. Cook time: 15 min. Total: 25 min.

INGREDIENTS COST
4 thick cut pork chops (bone-in or boneless) $5.97
1/4 cup brown sugar $0.12
1/2 tsp cayenne powder $0.05
1/2 tsp garlic powder $0.05
1/2 tsp paprika $0.05
1/2 tsp salt $0.05
1/2 tsp black pepper $0.05
TOTAL $6.55

STEP 1: Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl combine the brown sugar and spices (salt, pepper, cayenne, paprika and garlic powder or whatever spice blend you like).

STEP 2: Remove the pork chops from their package and rub the brown sugar/spice mix all over both sides. Use all of the spice mix.

STEP 3: Heat 2 Tbsp of olive oil in a skillet over medium/high heat. When the oil is nice and hot (it will look wavy in the pan), add the pork chops. Cook the chops for about 5 minutes on each side or until they are nicely browned.

STEP 4: If you are using an oven safe skillet, place the skillet in the oven for an additional 5 minutes to make sure they are cooked through. If your skillet is not oven safe (most plastic handled skillets and teflon are not safe in the oven), transfer the chops to a baking sheet lined with foil then place in the oven.

STEP 5: Remove the chops from the oven and drag each side around in the thick glaze that has formed around the chops in the pan prior to serving.

Simple rice loaded with gooey cheese and zucchini

http://bunsinmyoven.com/2012/06/28/cheesy-zucchini-rice/

Leave a Reply

