One Wife's Pinterest Meal Challenge

I love to pin the desserts.  Yum!  So I decided to finally try one.  My first dessert? Chocolate Covered Frozen Banana & Peanut Butter Bites: http://pinterest.com/pin/91901648616715320/.

When I started to melt the chocolate, my husband was suddenly interested. He came into the kitchen to investigate.  I cut up the bananas and added the peanut butter. Messy, but fun.  I stuck them in the freezer as the recipe called for and before long I was dipping them in chocolate. This was super messy. Not only that, my chocolate didn’t cover nicely like in the photos on the website.  It looked like a big fat mess. But I finished up and stuck the baking sheet back in the freezer.

The next day we tried them. It was a bit of a mouthful.  I had obviously sliced my bananas way to thick.  It was just too much.  If there is a next time, I’ll probably nix the peanut butter and just make chocolate covered banana bites. It was just a little too much for us.  You might disagree, though.  So check the recipe below to try it yourself.

Chocolate Covered Frozen Banana & Peanut Butter Bites

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium ripe bananas, sliced
  • 1/4 cup smooth salted peanut butter
  • 10 oz baking dark chocolate squares

Directions:

1. Arrange half of the banana slices on a baking sheet with parchment paper, and spread peanut butter on them.
2. Top with the other half of banana slices and put in the freezer for about one hour.
3. Melt 2/3 of chocolate (about 6.5 oz). When still hot, add in remaining chocolate and stir until smooth and shiny (it’s called tempering chocolate).
4. Remove bananas from the freezer and dip them into chocolate. You have to work quickly before the sandwiches start to defrost and get mushy. Remove excess chocolate and put back on the baking sheet.
5. Freeze at least 3 hours or until ready to serve.

Makes about 29 bites.

http://www.notenoughcinnamon.com/2012/07/04/chocolate-covered-frozen-banana-peanut-butter-bites/

Leave a Reply

