Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Verde

Three weeks ago a pin on Pinterest led me down the rabbit hole to a website called Food Gawker, http://foodgawker.com/. This is a really cool site which collects and categorizes recipes.  While on the site I pinned a couple different meals, including Chicken Enchiladas with Salsa Verde Sauce: http://pinterest.com/pin/91901648616715697/. And today I decided was the day to try it out.

I’ve never made enchilada before.  in truth, I never had a real enchilada until i moved out to CA at 25. We don’t eat a lot of Mexican food in Ohio.  And I don’t think Taco Bell counts.  When I was dating my now husband, he took me out to eat at a little Mexican place.  He ordered a burrito and i probably ordered something familiar, like tacos.  I watched him enjoying his burrito and finally I asked, “What’s in a burrito?” He stopped and looked at me in  horror (so I made be exaggerating slightly) and said “You’ve never had a burrito before?” I shook my head and he insisted I try it.  From that point on, Mexican Restaurants became a favorite of ours.  Though, I have to admit, I usually order the same two things every time we go.

But I digress.

I picked up all the ingredients at Trader Joe’s, my favorite place to get groceries.  The recipe was really easy to follow.  I baked the chicken in the oven and upon completing, but together the enchiladas. After covering them with salsa verde, the baked for a quick 30 minutes.
The result?  Delicious enchiladas in the comfort of my own home. Hubby came home from work and was quite pleased.  He even did all the dishes!  This is definitely a dish to make again!

 

Leave a Reply

