Avocado Chicken Salad

I’ve taken a big step.  I am trying something new in the kitchen.  You don’t understand how big this is.  I bought cilantro.  Seriously.

I bunch of my friends have been pinning recipes on Pinterest, and so have I. But I never actually tried to make any of it.

It all started when I was talking to my husband about dinner.  I was planning on making Unstuffed Pepper Casserole.  This is a great casserole made with red and yellow peppers, ground beef and tomatoes.  I make it all the time.  Apparently too often, though.  My doting husband told me he was getting tired of the casserole.  What?!?  “Tired of the casserole?  This is a good casserole!”, I thought. So I listed off a few other casseroles and chicken options that I have, and he wasn’t excited about any of them.

Now, I have to admit, cooking is not my strong suit.  I have a small repertoire of recipes, and that is it.  My husband likes to cook and cooks several times a week.  However, he also told me he didn’t want to cook much anymore.  He wanted to dinner ready when he came home.  I get it, he works hard all day.  It is not too much to ask.

But I was at a loss.  What can I make that is not pasta, quesadillas, casserole or something frozen from Trader Joe’s?
And then, I saw it. Avocado Chicken Salad: http://pinterest.com/pin/91901648616667756/.  I like Chicken.  I like Avocado.  I can learn to like Cilantro. It seemed easy enough.  So I boldly went to Trader Joe’s and picked up my supplies.   And making this dish was a snap.  I baked the chicken in the oven, shredded it, and stirred in the avocado and spices.

I was a little nervous when hubby took his first bites.  He didn’t say much. I mean, what if he didn’t like it.  He has cheerfully suffered through many an “experimental” meal, and always has a good thing to say, but I still feel awful when something doesn’t turn out right.  I want to retreat back to my casseroles.  But much to my surprise, he said he liked it. And went back for seconds!  Success!!  I just might try this Pinterest Meal thing again.

Leave a Reply

